David’s Rant

Hi, my name is David Haas, one of the characters from The Method Writers. My creator, Jeff Swesky, the person who is supposed to be writing today’s blog post, is too busy celebrating his birthday to be bothered with such a task. So his obligation has fallen upon my shoulders.

I’d rather be working on my new Kenny Black novel, Fade to Black, especially since I’ve been suffering from writer’s block—if there is such a thing—and have barely made any headway with the damn thing. I’m a bit worried that my agent is going to get fed up and cut me loose soon. After all, my first Kenny Black novel was a flop and I’ve given him no reason to believe that this one is going to be much better.

But this time I’m using a new technique to tell Kenny’s story. It’s a little something called Method Writing, inspired by my writers group. Essentially it’s taking the method acting approach and applying it towards writing. Right now a big distraction for me has been that my beautiful neighbor, Maria, is being abused by her idiot boyfriend, Franco. Since my “franchise” character, Kenny Black, is a vigilante walking the streets looking to right the wrong, I’m trying to come up with a plan that will teach Franco a lesson while giving me the inspiration to finish my novel at the same time.

I plan to describe my method writing successes and failures in The Method Writers novel. So please be on the lookout for it.

Unfortunately for today, Mr. Birthday Boy wanted to get piss-drunk and dance around all day with a lampshade on his head, and I’m working on this blog post instead of my novel. Damn writers! Okay, I’m a bit jealous, because I’d like to be doing the same thing. Maybe if I get this post done soon enough, he’ll even share his beer with me. But I doubt it—he’s guzzling it down like he was on his death bed and discovered that beer was a life-saving elixir.

How much do we really know about this Swesky guy? He’s a computer programmer and a writer and a hockey player?!?! Something’s not adding up. Sounds like he’s the character, and I’m his creator!

Then again, I should watch what I say. He may be a little vindictive and if he reads about me badmouthing him, he may kill me off at the beginning of The Method Writers’ sequel.

So party on, Jeff!! Enjoy your day off from writing! 😉

About Jeff Swesky

Author Jeff Swesky primarily writes literary fiction where the characters balance a razor sharp line between redemption and destruction. Jeff is a member of the Rogues Gallery Writers, who published a short story collaboration, "Writing Is Easy," and a group novel, "The Method Writers." He also ghostwrote the Holocaust memoir of Rabbi Samuel Cywiak titled, "Flight From Fear," and released a collection of his short stories titled, "Fell on Black Days." He's currently working on several projects, including his literary, coming-of-age novel, "Such a Dreamer," and the crime noir serial, "The Awakening of Kenny Black." View all posts by Jeff Swesky

7 responses to “David’s Rant

Leave a comment